About the Ontario Pulse Crop Committee


The Ontario Pulse Crop Committee (OPCC) is the recommending committee for dry beans in Ontario. The committee co-ordinates the Variety Registration and Performance trials for dry beans in Ontario.

The Ontario Dry Bean Tests are conducted annually by a combination of private and public trials. The purpose of these tests is to obtain agronomic, pest, disease, and quality information for use in supporting the registration of new dry bean varieties and in preparing an annual performance report of varieties.

The committee also reviews and establishes dry bean research priorities and addresses emerging issues in the dry bean sector by working closely with public and private breeders, industry, University, government institutions and grower organizations.

The Ontario Pulse Crop Committee (OPCC) has members from the following public and private groups:

♦   Ontario White Bean Producers
♦   Ontario Coloured Bean Growers
♦   Canadian Seed Trade Association (CSTA)
♦   Canadian Plant Breeders (CPB of CSTA)
♦   Ontario Bean Dealers (Ontario Agribusiness Assoc.)
♦   Variety Registration Office, Canadian Food Inspection Agency
♦   Canadian Seed Growers Association (CSGA)
♦   Ontario Seed Growers Association (OSGA)
♦   Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs (Field Crop Unit)
♦   Ridgetown Campus of the University of Guelph
♦   Ontario Agricultural College, University of Guelph (OAC)
♦   Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada/ University of Guelph bean Breeding Program



Meghan Moran
OMAFRA Canola & Edible Bean Specialist
63 Lorne Ave E, Suite 2B
Stratford ON N5A 6S5
Phone: 519-546-1725


Tom Smith
Plant Agriculture
Ontario Agricultural College
50 Stone Road
Guelph, Ont. N1G 2WI
Phone : 519-824-4120 ext 58339